04.12.2017 - 06.12.2017

2 minutes of reading



Advances in the field of colloids and complex fluids sciences will lead to the development of new efficient and eco-friendly solutions designed to address some of the energy and environment-related challenges of the 21st century.

The objectives of this international conference are to share scientific/technical advances in this field and discuss their potential to address new challenges related to oil & gas, nuclear and new energies sectors.

In particular, progresses in system design, characterization, understanding and modeling were highlighted.

photo: participants

Thanks to all participants, speakers, authors and partners. You made the event a success!
The Organizing Committee

Co-Organized by 
Logo: IFPEN       Logo:


Logo: LUM       Logo: Formulaction

Keynote speakers

  • Etienne Duguet (University of Bordeaux, France)
  • Martin Ferno (University of Bergen, Norway)
  • Dominique Langevin (University of Orsay, France)

The main scientific topics:

> Nanoparticles synthesis, system nanostructuration, functionalization
> Dynamic interfacial phenomena understandings
> Rheology, flow and diffusion in confined systems (porous media, microfluidics)
> Stability, evolution and ageing of colloids and complex fluids
> In-situ characterization and behavior modelling
> Applications for energy, colloidal system processing, process design

Among potential applications, we can list the enhanced oil recovery, water management, flow assurance, catalysis, energy storage, biomass transformation, nuclear fuel preparation and spent fuel treatment, cleanup and dismantling as well as radioactive waste management, storage and conditioning and any other application dedicated to the development of new energies.

The program of this international conference is structured to encourage interaction, stimulate exchange of ideas and debate still opened questions between players from the worlds of academic research, applied research and industry.

Organizing Committee
Jean-François Argillier (IFPEN, France)
Guillaume Batot (IFPEN, France)
Sylvain Faure (CEA, France)
Audrey Hertz (CEA, France)
Denis Uzio (IFPEN, France)

Scientific Committee
Jean-Francois Argillier (IFPEN, France)
Nikolai Denkov (University of Sofia, Bulgaria)
Sylvain Faure (CEA, France)
Tommy S. Horozov (University of Hull, United Kingdom)
Francois Lequeux (ESPCI Paris Tech, France)
Junbai Li (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
Luis M. Liz-Marzán (Center for Cooperative Research in Biomaterials, Spain)
Frieder Mugele (University of Twente, The Netherlands)
Cosima Stubenrauch (University of Stuttgart, Germany)
Henry Van Damme (ESPCI Paris Tech, France)
Jan Vermant ( ETH Zurich, Switzerland)