IFPEN’s expertise and skills are key influence and appeal factors when it comes to conducting open and collaborative research. Peer recognition in a variety of fields, reflected in the numerous, often prestigious awards received over the years, is thus essential. 

Awards obtained in 2022

Thomas Pigeon, IFPEN doctoral student since 2020, received a prize for the best poster at the 18th edition of ICTAC (International Conference on Theoretical Aspects of Catalysis) held at ENS Lyon from June 13 to 17, 2022. His thesis work, co-directed by teams from École des Ponts ParisTech-INRIA and IFPEN, focuses on the implementation of an innovative method combining machine learning and quantum molecular dynamics for the sampling of rare chemical events occurring in heterogeneous catalysis.

Bertrand Guichard, research engineer at IFPEN, received the Innovation 2022 prize from the catalysis division of the Société Chimique de France for his work which led to the development of high-performance catalysts in the field of refining as well as for his study of the catalyst behavior of innovative formulations for the production of fuels and biofuels by coprocessing.

Elsy El Hayek, from 2017 to 2020 a doctoral student at the IFPEN, was awarded the 2022 Denise Barthomeuf Thesis Prize for her work on "New acid zeolites obtained from silicogermanates" during the annual meeting of the French Zeolite Group (29 to 31 March 2022). Each year, this prize is awarded for thesis work involving zeolite-type porous materials.

On 17 January 2022, the Co-ordination Chemistry division of the Société Chimique de France (French Chemistry Society) awarded the 2021 Thesis Prize, jointly with Nikos Kostopoulos (Université de Paris), to Julien Petit, a doctoral student with IFPEN from 2018 to 2021, for his work on “Exploration of a new reactivity in ethylene oligomerization: towards new dicationic nickel complexes”. 

During the 11th Conference of the Association Française de l’Adsorption (French Adsorption Association) (27 and 28 January 2022), Wassim Ammar, a doctoral student at IFPEN since 2019, was awarded the prize for best oral presentation about the separation of second-generation sugars using zeolites.

Awarded researchers :    

2021       2020       2019       2018      2017   

   2016      2015      2014        ​​​​​Nobel Prize